Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 17 years paid experience
  • Age 37
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60608
Responder ready badge: A light blue color badge with a red heart on the left side with the text 'Responder ready' in capital letters on the right side

This sitter is available to families participating in our partnership with front-line responders fighting against the spread of COVID-19. Learn more

Meet Mirella

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi! My name is Mirella and I absolutely love children! I've been working with them for more than 17 years now. I graduated from Columbia College studying music business management and marketing, as well as early childhood education. I also have a master's degree in internet marketing. I have extensive experience and education in child development that I am constantly continuing. I have been a babysitter, professional nanny, daycare provider, nursery attendant, camp counselor, tutor, teacher, etc. I am bilingual in English and Spanish, as well as cpr and first aid trained and certified. I participated in the 2012 national nanny training day and happiest baby on the block certifications. I'm an active member of the International Nanny Association. I am a newborn care specialist. I love encouraging language, music, and reading. I also love to do outdoor activities and arts & crafts. Most importantly, I truly adore children! I Read more treat each child as if they are my own to give them the best love and care possible. More than anything, I love being a positive and loving influence on their development and in their lives. I have had various background checks done and have excellent references. Please contact me if you think I may be a great fit for your family. Thank you for your time. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired. Last completed on 03/08/2018.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 08/03/2019.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/31/14

Ratings & reviews

4.9 4.9 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

19

0

0

1

0

Jennifer C.

11/19/2017

Mirella was great! Kids liked her, she was there on time, and she even washed a few dishes....which tired parents really appreciate. We'd definitely ask her to sit again.

Jacki H.

10/25/2017

Sittercity Parent

3/19/2017

On time, friendly, and confident. Would hire her again.

Sittercity Parent

2/26/2017

Sittercity Parent

2/20/2017

It's a good sign that our son didn't even care that we were home, he was so happy playing with Mirella!

Katie H.

10/16/2016

Katie M.

10/6/2016

Friendly and knowledgeable! Confident with my 5 month old. Highly recommend.

Sittercity Parent

9/20/2016

Sittercity Parent

7/22/2016

Sittercity Parent

7/16/2016

Tammy V.

7/5/2016

Sittercity Parent

1/24/2015

We loved her!

Garnet S.

1/1/2013

Mirella watched my 2 small dogs for a few days over Christmas and I cannot say enough great things about her! She showed up at the appointed meet and greet time and was also very punctual with the day before key pick up. The dogs loved her and were obviously very happy when I returned from my trip. She sent me pictures and texts to let me know how things were going (all fabulous, of course) even when I didn't say it was required. I'm very laid back about the dog sitter communications, but she went above and beyond. I will use her again in a heartbeat for all of my short and extended trips. She was very punctual, courteous, loving with the animals and was so neat and tidy I wouldn't have even known a guest stayed in my home while I was gone. I normally have friends watch the animals, but Mirella proved that she is even more attentive and considerate to my home than my friends had been. Truly a professional through and through.

Rachel F.

2/9/2012

Mirella has been great with my 7 month old daughter! My daughter has been difficult to leave with sitters, but she loves Mirella! Mirella reads her books, sings songs with her and makes her laugh. She has always been prompt and reliable. We look forward to continuing to work with her!

Daisy C.

12/7/2011

Confirmed the appointment and canceled the appointment 30 minutes before the appointment without a reason. Not very polite on the phone as well. Would not hire her. - Daisy C.

Matthew H.

8/24/2011

Mirella is fantastic. Our daughter gets excited when Mirella comes over. Our daughter normally has a bit of anxiety around strangers, but Mirella made her immediately comfortable. We always come home to a tidy house, even though we didn't ask Mirella to straighten. We always feel very confident leaving our daughter in Mirella's care. Matt & Liz

Scott M.

8/12/2011

Mirella has a great personality; she came into our home and our son instantly enjoyed her company. Prompt with responses, she is reliable and friendly.

Bart C.

7/25/2011

Mirella is fantastic. She's very friendly and showed up on time even on relatively short notice. Our one year old daughter has a great time with her and is in such a good mood when we get home that sometimes I think we should have stayed out longer. I would recommend Mirella to anyone, only I don't want all of her time taken up with other people's children.

Jennifer M.

1/23/2011

Mirella is an excellent babysitter! Our 2-1/2 year old daughter took to her instantly--she wanted her to stay and play immediately after our initial interview. She gets very excited every time Mirella comes over and is never sad to see me leave--which puts me right at ease. Mirella clearly enjoys children and is very knowledgeable and professional. She promptly responds to phone calls/messages, and is always on time. I know my daughter is in good hands with Mirella. She is a very caring, competent babysitter.

Andrea S.

9/2/2010

Mirella has been watching our daughter for 3 years and has been fantastic. She has an obvious love of children and her interactions with our daughter have always been top notch- appropriate, loving, caring, and educational. She is very responsible, always punctual, and professional. She puts the needs of our child before her own when she is in charge. We never regreted hiring Mirella to watch our daughter. She has exceeded our expectations!!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Music Business Management/Early Childhood Education & Internet Marketing

Full Sail University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Mirella's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now