JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Jessica S.

Nanny in Chicago, IL 60640.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Chicago, IL

  • Age 35
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

Jessica’s Bio

I have 6 years experience as a live-in nanny, 6 years as a live-out nanny, and 15 years total as an babysitter to (full, occasional, date night and part-time). I have experience with ALL ages. I'm active sitter and I like to play imaginary games, sports, board games, run around, do art projects, and inspire fun and creativity. Trips to parks, libraries, and other fun places are a definite plus.

On a rainy/snowy day I like to snuggle up with good books or create tents out of sheets and anything else your child can dream up! I know how to keep kids entertained (with and without electronics), happy, and safe. I am able to enforce rules in a way that is positive. I believe in "catching" kids when they have a positive attitude and are helpful and kind; I find they're less likely to get in trouble with appropriate acknowledgement of their positive actions.

Of course, I've dealt with my share of temper tantrums, bedtime battles, and the tough stuff kids can throw at you. I am a naturally calm person with a gentle, but firm, voice and I find kids respond really well to that part of me. During difficult times I do my best to calm the child(ten), remove them (or others) from the situation, and give them a chance to be heard once they are calm. I am patient and fair, and find setting/enforcing good boundaries is helpful for everyone.

Children are worthy of respect, but they need it modeled for them. I like to work with kids in a way that teaches them the importance of kindness and care for others. In this global/tech world, I think it's important that they see and hear this modeled for them. More importantly, children need daily opportunities to practice kindness and care for others. This also teaches them the importance of respect for themselves and for others.

If you're looking for someone who is experienced, educated, responsible, and believes in being a positive role model for children, then I think we would be a great match. I can assure you that your kids will be engaged, learning new things, having fun, and cared for as if you were with them.

I know from my experience how important it is to have regular, clear communication with parents. Having open and honest communication from the start, making sure all expectations of each other are clear, addressing things as they may arise, and providing positive feedback and respect for one another is necessary.

I look forward to working with your family (and pets too)!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Diabetes
  • Dyslexia
  • Epilepsy
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Premature Newborn
  • Sensory Integration Disorder
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 11/24/16

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Bengali
  • Thai

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

References

Betsy T. is a reference for Jessica S. Relationship: Former Employer
Jen R. is a reference for Jessica S. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Jessica S.
Jessica S.
Chicago, IL 60640
35

years
of age

15

years experience

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now