JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 7 years paid experience
  • Age 25
  • Nanny in Elmwood Park, IL 60707

Meet Dorota

  • Speaks Polish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am a very bright and energetic person, always with a smile on my face. I have been working with children (outside of the family/ professionally) for about 12 years now; But it all began with my younger brother, and his need for a guide and tutor, when our family moved here from Poland (with no knowledge of the English language or American Custom). I was the first one to become fluent in the English language, so I was the one who took care of things (that needed any type of translation). When my parents got a divorce, I started taking care of my brother, while my mom was away at work. Eventually, I learned the ABC's and 123's of running a house, as well as certain aspects of raising a child. Some time after that, I began tutoring a second grader, Mike, who lived 2 blocks down from me, Read more and eventually babysat him, when necessary. When Mike no longer needed a tutor, I began working at a movie theater. I worked at the theater for about 9 months, the last 3 at a supervisor position. I left the theater for personal reasons, as well as to go back to school. While being enrolled in classes, I also needed a part time job. I couldn't think of anything more fitting, seeing as I absolutely adore children, and found taking care of Mike to be a very fun and rewarding job. I created a Sittercity account, and got lucky enough to nail my first interview - only 2 days later. 3 days after that I began working as a nanny for this enthusiastic bunch of 3 littles (who, until this day, have my heart). After I began nannying for that family, I started to pick up some babysitting gigs on the weekends as well. The second pair of children whom I nannied, was a set of twins - a boy, and a girl - aged 6. I have been lucky enough to be welcomed into several different, very loving families, and have gotten the privilege to get to know the sweetest little souls ever. I have experience working with children of all ages, as well as twins and multiples.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and late nights

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Available to start on 2/5/2018
  • My availability is valid through 5/3/18

Ratings & reviews

3.6 3.6 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

2

0

0

2

Julie E.

12/2/2015

I never had her work here because she never showed or called for her scheduled interview. She actually rescheduled the interview 20 minutes before she was supposed to be here because she wasn't feeling well and she never showed or called for the rescheduled interview and never heard from her again.

Cynthia B.

3/31/2013

Dorota was cheerful and professional, she was on time and made a connection with my daughter rather quickly. I will use her again if the need arises.

Monica L.

3/3/2013

I spoke to Dorota on the phone before scheduling an interview with her (while she sounded half asleep at 11 a.m.) and while I had questions about her, I still thought meeting her in person would be worthwhile. Well, she rescheduled the interview because she forgot about previous obligations, and when I accommodated her, she was a no-show. No email, no text, no phone call. I'm relieved that I did not hire her to watch my newborn, and anyone else who is considering hiring her should know that she's not reliable to even show up to an interview.

Jessica T.

1/23/2013

Dorota is an excellent babysitter. She arrived on time, was very thorough with her questions as to what our expectations were, and handled our 3 month old son as if she has kids of her own. Our son was really happy with her and in a fantastic mood when we arrived home from our night out. Thanks for a great experience! - Jess T.

Kate C.

1/21/2013

Dorota has been great with our 4-year-old. She has always been on time, is great at following instruction and I know that our daughter likes spending time with her. She's very mature and I'm never worried when she's at our house!

Heather L.

1/17/2013

Dorota is great with our daughter. We have used her several times and plan on using her in the future. She has always been on time and very responsive. I would highly recommend her.

Stephanie H.

10/13/2012

Dorota, Was fantastic, she was early, she clicked with our kids and she made them feel comfortable right off the bat. We are giving her five stars with great big smiles. Dorota we thank you. Mark and Stephanie Keep up the great work!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$14-$18/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Delayed Speech
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology

Currently attending City Colleges of Chicago - Wilbur Wright College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Polish

Share Dorota's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now