JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • 17 years paid experience
  • Age 47
  • Nanny in North Aurora, IL 60542

Meet Tamara

  • Speaks Sign Language
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi! My name is Tamara. You are welcome to call me Lea. For the past 34 years I've been in some form of caregiving role, whether that be a babysitter, classroom assistant, teacher, substitute teacher, tutor, resident assistant, and, yes, a nanny! I loved all of the roles I've held. However, the three roles I loved the most was being a nanny, tutor and a resident counselor. I believe this is due to having a much smaller classroom (i.e. the children I am nannying) and I can combine aspects of teaching for each student depending on their needs. As you can guess, I can easily taylor the lessons for each child's learning style and/or needs, interest, and age. I have been told I am good at finding lessons that are appropriate, challenging and fun for students. Whether the lesson is in reading, math, spelling, study skills, arts and crafts, cooking, Read more etc..., students are quick to let me know if they enjoyed the lesson or, if they didn't, what they hope to see next time. Then, I or, even we, do our best (yes, sometimes, both the students and I) to create a new lesson based on the suggestions. Sometimes, we get the results we were hoping for and other times we, well, let's just say, we have a new opportunity to keep persisting to find what we are hoping to achieve! I do hold an Illinois teaching certificate. The grades I have taught are preschool, kindergarten, middle school grades 6, 7, and 8, as well as high school. I absolutely LOVE teaching reading and anything that has to do with reading (i.e. vocabulary, spelling, literary concepts, comprehension, fluency, and the like) as well as study skills. I can teach the other subjects as well. Just let me know what your needs are and I will tell you what subjects I am stronger in. Oh, also, I do know sign language. I am pretty fluent in both receptive and expressive sign language. If you believe after reading this small bio that we might be a good match. Please do not hesitate to contact me. I will be more than happy to discuss your needs to see if we are indeed a good fit for one another! Again, thanks for finding and reading my profile. I look forward in hearing from you! ~Lea

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Will consider a part time position
  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/31/17

Ratings & reviews

Tamara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Elementary Education

Northern Illinois University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Sign Language

Share Tamara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now