JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Taran C. Nanny in Oak Lawn, IL 60453.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Oak Lawn, IL

  • Age 32
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Rating Average rating of 5 (2 reviews)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Taran is the absolute best sitter I have ever had. My 4 year old and one year old love her. I have used her abou...

- Amy O.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $7-$10 per hour

Taran’s Bio

Currently I offer weekday care in my home from 7am-5pm every day. I'm 32 years old and I have a 2.5 year old and 3 month old daughter. I was a nanny for 10 years before having my own children. I provide a safe and fun environment in my house that will keep kids and parents alike very happy. I believe in a mixture of physical and mental activity throughout the day. A typical day will consist of healthy meals and snacks, outdoor playtime (indoor in inclement weather but it will still be active!), creative time with art projects and sensory play, nap time or quiet time depending on age as well as free time for the kids to play on their own. I hold memberships to Oak Lawn Children’s Museum and Brookfield Zoo, which we frequent several times a month. We also love going to Toddler Time at the library and Open Gym at the Racquetball Center. I'm Infant/Child CPR certified and I have impeccable references.

I think children need to have fun, respect adults and be free to make mistakes while exploring the world. I believe in kissing boo-boos and time out chairs. I believe that a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down and "please and thank you" should be used liberally. I don't hesitate to say no when necessary but I take pride in the fact that I'm a fun-loving nanny who usually says yes. I think that children should be heard and their opinions valued but that "Mom knows best" and actions have consequences. I believe that communication between nanny and parent is the key to a great working environment. I'm always open to exploring alternative parenting styles and can adapt to any family's needs.

During my time as a nanny I have done the following: potty trained toddlers, successfully used and reinforced the teachings of "1-2-3 Magic" by Thomas Phelan and "Happy Sleep Habit, Happy Child" by Marc Weissbluth. I have administered medication including inhalers and nebulizers. I have dealt with colicky babies, children with food allergies and I have some knowledge on nutrition. I also have experience with cloth diapers. Additionally, I am up to date on my flu and Tdap vaccine.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 1/22/18

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Essay Writing

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Taran was absolutely fabulous. Both my husband and I were extremely comfortable leaving her with our children. We'll definitely be calling her again!

- Betsy C.
5

Taran is the absolute best sitter I have ever had. My 4 year old and one year old love her. I have used her about 6 times and everytime she has a new activity for my daughter to do. FANTASTIC! She understands what it takes to keep a house running while mom and dad are gone and does not hesitate to jump right in. I feel so comfortable leaving her in charge!

- Amy O.
Jump to Top
Taran C.
Taran C.
Oak Lawn, IL 60453
32

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $7-$10 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now