JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 20
  • Nanny in Palatine, IL 60067

Meet Maurissa

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

For the past two and a half years, I have been taking care of my now three year old niece. I would watch her everyday from the time she woke, which was around 8-9am, to the time her mother came home from work which could vary between 4-8pm. I feel with this experience I am ready to branch out with the necessary skills and qualifications to care for others. I am very attentive and loving, yet firm when needed (temper tantrums, etc.). I do not believe in ANY sort of physical reprimand. I love taking care of children. With my niece, we would spend the days doing arts and crafts, educational games, and walks to the park or public library, which lies just over the hill of our neighborhood. When at the library, we could not only check out books but play in the kids area with other kids, allowing Read more my niece to interact freely with others her age in a much safer environment than the park, which is large and potentially dangerous for someone so young when not directly with their caregiver. It was always fun taking, as we would call, “adventures” to the library because all the kids seemed to flock to me. I noticed this was because the grownups that had brought them seemed to view this place as a way to sit down and let the child do whatever while they sat and stared at their phones. This made me sad. I had absolutely no problem watching all these children, in fact, I enjoyed it! But at some point one must realize that they are not getting the care and attention they need past food and general well-being. I believe no child should be cooped up inside watching shows or playing by themselves solely because their caregiver is lazy and not invested in the child’s happiness. There’s always an adventure out there, be it an indoor picnic or a trip outside! I look forward to showing your child a life outside of minimum level of care, because they deserve so, so much more.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Open (all day, everyday)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/10/18

Ratings & reviews

Maurissa doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$14-$20/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Premature Newborn
    • Visual Impairment
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Maurissa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now