JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Shannon M.

Nanny in Villa Park, IL 60181.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Villa Park, IL

  • Age 25
  • 13 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Today

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Shannon’s Bio

I haven't had the oppurtunity to nanny before now but I have plenty of babysitting experience for time periods of time (up to and including 12 hours). I've cared for children aged 6 mos. to 12 yrs. in my 8 years of babysitting experience. I love kids and don't mind getting down and dirty to play with them! And I'm good with animals, too. At least, my dog and two cats seem to think so :)
In addition to babysitting, I have volunteered at my church for a number of years doing various things, all involving child care. I've worked in the nursery and let me tell you, I can sympathize with mothers of multiple infants now! I was a Bible Camp counselor three or four summers as well as a preschool enrichment program craft teacher/general helping hand for one year.
My child care style is to keep them actve and engaged in something. I don't like to let kids do too much TV, videogame, or computer time because I think playing outside or games that use imagination are so much better for a child. That's not to say that I don't ever let the kids I watch play on the computer or watch Spongebob but I much prefer non-technological games for the kids. I never had that kind of stuff and it was great!
I can cook and do light cleaning, if that is something your family needs. 
I have taken courses on child care and child development.
I'm in college persuing a psychology degree right now but I would love to be a summer nanny for your family!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

13 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Feeding Tube
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Repositioning
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Homework Help:

  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
Jump to Top
Shannon M.
Shannon M.
Villa Park, IL 60181
25

years
of age

13

years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now