JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sheila W.

Nanny in Westchester, IL 60154.

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Westchester, IL

  • Age 60
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Rating Average rating of 5 (3 reviews)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (3)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5
I highly recommend Sheila to care for your children!

Always on time, always energetic, Sheila has been our full time nanny for 1 year now, and our children and dog l...

- Colleen N.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $10-$18 per hour

Sheila’s Bio

I have well over 16 years of professional Nanny/House Managing/Personal Assistant experience. I have also taught Pre-School and Pre-School swimming. I have In-Home Day Care experience at my Westchester residence. I have a Child Development/Psychology background. I have an extensive medical background, CPR trained and can handle children with special needs.
Kids respond to me because I am patient, outgoing, fun-loving and try to relate to them at their level. I also try to make every day a fun learning experience.
I am not afraid to get my hands dirty. In the summer you can find me on the ground teaching the kids about insects, how to fish, or catching bullfrogs/ turtles to study (catch and release). I am a big nature-lover. I can still even impress childrens (and myself) by turning a cart-wheel or two. I am an avid fisher-woman, excellent swimmer and horseback-rider. I have even taken some of my kids to my Dog Shows (my hobby is training/entering my German Shepherd Dogs in Obedience/Conformation Competition). My current 4 year old is a UKC Champion with over 45 ribbons/awards. She is rated VP & SG in the German Show Ring, holds 2 AKC Obedience Titles and visits several Nursing Homes, as she is working on her Therapy Dog certification...
Although I am no "spring choicken" so to speak, do not let my age deter you. I am high energy and fit, working 50 to 60 hours per week. On the weekends, if I am not working, you will find me running around the dog show ring, or practicing agility!
I have a Law Enforcement and Medical background and have also worked in the Corporate world. All of those jobs I really enjoyed. But I am completely happy and comfortable in a private/domestic setting taking care of children and managing a household. I excel at ensuring that the household is running smoothly, and I like putting my excellent organizational skills to work. It is a very gratifying experience for me. I have also learned that to be successful, there needs to be teamwork on the part of the parents/caregiver, open communication & consistency. I also believe that there should be organization and structure...
 I am also very intelligent, professional, comical, considerate of others, a bit of a neat freak and a little bit of a workaholic. I am 100% dependable! I am also a parent of an adult daughter.
Feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Thanks for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you.  Sheila
 
 
 
 
 
 

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 7/29/15

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (3)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

We had the privelege of Sheila caring for our 3 children (4mos, 4, and 5 years old). She did an excellent job engaging the kids, setting boundaries, and dealing with any inappropriate behavior. She brought some toys of her own to give the kids a change of pace and create some new activities. We arrived home from an evening out to kids tucked safely and soundly in bed and our house in perfect order. She is excellent and I highly recommend her.

- Timothy G.
5

Sheila has been working for us full time for over two years now, caring for our three children currently aged 7, 2, and 10 months. Sheila provides very high quality care and is extraordinarily reliable. Our house is kept together, and she makes sure the "little things" are tended to, like restocking the diaper drawer before she leaves. Our children love Sheila. Sheila is also a good communicator, keeping a log daily and ensuring she shares any important information. I can definitely recommend Sheila to anyone looking for high quality, reliable care for their children.

- Jen C.
5
I highly recommend Sheila to care for your children!

Always on time, always energetic, Sheila has been our full time nanny for 1 year now, and our children and dog love Sheila!
I highly recommend Sheila to care for your children. I have three children 9 month, 2.5 and 5 years old. Sheila is able to care for, entertain and educate all three of the children. All the while, caring for our home, our dog and even making a surprise dinner for us when we arrived home. Sheila is very creative and enjoys making projects with the kids and sparking their imagination. She also appropriately sets boundaries and deals with any inappropriate behavior, instilling respect from our children. Sheila is also very flexible and able to take on additional hours if needed.

- Colleen N.
Jump to Top
Sheila W.
Sheila W.
Westchester, IL 60154
60

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$18 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now