Sittercity home

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Nanny in Kenner, LA 70065

Meet Katie

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi! I'm a professional nanny here in New Orleans. I have been working professionally in childcare after graduating from Tulane with a degree in Psychology and Sociology in 2005. I started with a position in New York State, where I worked with children with ADHD, Down's Syndrome, Autism and various other emotional, learning and behavioral challenges. After spending nearly 10 years in New York, I moved to Australia and spent a year as a professional nanny to 3 children in Sydney before coming back to New Orleans to continue my work as a nanny with children here at home. This experience has shaped me into a very responsible, organized and adventurous person. I am also excellent at managing stressful situations calmly. I am trainer of Therapeutic Crisis Intervention, train lifeguards and teach CPR and swimming. Since returning home to New Orleans, I have continued to further my education and credentials Read more as a childcare provider in addition to gaining valuable experience. I am a Certified Professional Nanny via the US Nanny Association. I am a also a Credentialed Newborn Care Specialist through the International Nanny Association and am a Hybrid Holistic Newborn Nanny trained though Gentle Ventures. I have over 9,000 hours of documented work with children, including multiples and those with special needs. I'm a very active person and thoroughly enjoy being outdoors- so going to the park, playgrounds and participating in activities is something that I am very interested in doing! I do enjoy cooking and have experience cooking for children who have significant food allergies. I'm a huge fan of the library and really do enjoy reading for myself and to children. I'm also a non-smoker. As a Nanny in the past, I have created the children's schedule, cooked and served children's meals, did the children's laundry and took them to and from activities. However, my favorite part has been building relationships with the children and giving them the opportunity to learn and grow.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Open (all day, everyday)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/11/15

Ratings & reviews

Katie doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$27-$35/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Fragile X Syndrome
    • Heart Defects
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Seizures
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Psychology and Sociology

Graduated Tulane University 2005

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Katie's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now