Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 21
  • Nanny in Boston, MA 02115

Meet Miriam

  • Comfortable with pets

My name is Miriam Low, I am 20 years old and currently a Junior at Emmanuel College studying Psychology with a concentration in Neuroscience. I am a very outgoing and friendly person— and I love being creative. Throughout high school and into college I have always been involved in the arts and find it to be a contributor to my unique way of viewing the world. Additionally, I am very interested in the sciences and why we think the way we do— hence the major I am pursuing at Emmanuel. I also love being active, working out, and maintaining a healthy lifestyle! I have been working with children starting at the age of 13 where began as a mothers helper. This job provided a basis for me to ease my way into the babysitting world without having begin by myself. As a mothers helper I would care for the children Read more while the mother/ father were at a distance so that they could complete their work/ errands. At around 14 I began babysitting on my own— generally It was with the children from my neighborhood however I did babysit children all around town. The ages of the children that I babysat ranged from 5 months to 13/14 years old. I am still babysitting today when I find time or if I am on break from college. In addition to babysitting I also started working at my local YMCA camp when I was 16 as a Paraprofessional. This meant that I worked one-on-one with children that had special needs. These needs ranged from behavioral disorders and ADHD to cerebral palsy, epilepsy, and severe PTSD. All of these disabilities came with their own challenges from physical ability, social ability, and proper disciplinary action. All children are different, and figuring out their needs or wants, as well as ‘how they work’ when they don't have a disability is a challenge in itself— trying to figure out children that had these disabilities was even more of a challenge. Regardless of these issues my experience as a Paraprofessional was one of the most rewarding jobs I have ever had. It has allowed me to witness children reach small milestones that, for them, meant everything—- whether it was going in the pool or on a rollercoaster for the first time. I accredit my patience and unique perspective of any hardship to this experience. Every child is different, and part of what I love about my job as a babysitter is that I get to help each one discover his/her own strengths and talents and nurture those traits through engagement — whether I am only there one night or stay long term.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Available to start on 5/14/2018
  • My availability is valid through 7/10/18

Ratings & reviews

Miriam doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology with Neuroscience

Currently attending Emmanuel College - Boston

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed

Share Miriam's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now