JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Basic Background Check

Charlene B.

Nanny in Boston, MA 02118.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Boston, MA

  • Age 28
  • 6 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: This week

Preferred Rate $19-$25 per hour

Charlene’s Bio

Hi, My name is Charlene and I would love to take care of your children!
I have extensive experience with children of all ages from newborns to elementary school age. I love being around children and viewing the world through their eyes. Since I've been in the Boston area (6 years) I've had numerous full-time nannying jobs, working with families from Brookline to Cambridge. I'm currently working full-time with the family I have been with for 4 years but hoping to find some hours on the side for families that might need regular Tuesday or Thursdays afternoons or occasional weekend or evening sitters.
I'm energetic and creative and have been known to take children on grand adventures, riding the "purple line trains" to the Children's Museum, scootering in the Boston Common or along the Esplanade and now that it's fall, arboretum adventures to see the foliage. When trapped in the house due to inclement weather or a napping sibling, I have been known to create grand art projects with my pint sized buddies, lately this has been cardboard box engineering- we've built toddler sized helicopters, trains and ice cream stands but I am always open to other project ideas.
As far as discipline goes, I try and be as consistent with the parents as possible, so please let me know your house rules, expectations, etc. I often use a warning method with children (3 warnings about behavior- the third warning being a break from the situation if they find it difficult to make the safe/healthy/supportive/non-agressive choice) and try and be as clear about the choices and consequences so there is no confusion. I also try to encourage independence in children so some common questions you may hear me ask are "Can you do that yourself? Why don't you try first? Whats the first step we need to do before ____?"
I am also open to doing meal prep, running errands and light housework (laundry, dishes, organizing) in order to keep your household running smoothly, either with the children in tow or without.

Please let me know what I can do to help!

In the past I have had my First Aid and Infant/Child/Adult CPR certification and I am currently in the process of renewing it. I also have experience as a Certified Nurse Assistant working with disabled populations and feel comfortable with children with disabilities.

For references and any questions, please feel free to send me a message!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

6 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Injection Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Repositioning
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/10/16

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training

References

Rachel C. is a reference for Charlene B. Relationship: Former Employer
Naomi C. is a reference for Charlene B. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Charlene B.
Charlene B.
Boston, MA 02118
28

years
of age

6

years experience

Preferred Rate $19-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now