Sittercity Sign up

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 53
  • Nanny in Northborough, MA 01532

Meet Jan

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello Everyone! My name is Jan. In 1987, I graduated from college with degrees in early childhood education and psychology. I was immediately hired as a preschool teacher and thoroughly enjoyed managing my 1st pre-k classroom. It was truly an "initiation by fire" experience. Lol I clearly remember getting about halfway through the school year and asking my 21 year old self, "why didn't the curriculum at Becker include a class in discipline?" Lol It was a mystery to me how to "control" these children...that came with practice. Maybe it's something that can't be taught. Lol But what a fun bunch! And yes, I have looked some of them up on Facebook to get an update on my little buddies, now in there mid 30's! Fascinating! After several years in the classroom, I really aspired to become director. This is very similar to a principal in a traditional public school, Read more but on a smaller scale. I did eventually become Director II qualified in the state of Massachusetts and worked at a child care center in Worcester in that capacity. Fast forward to 1998 when I gave birth to my 1st daughter. She was born at 23 weeks gestation and weighed only 1 pound 5 oz at birth. This was, again, initiation by fire into motherhood. Suddenly I was a student of neonatal intensive care and later on, special needs and education, learning disabilities, IEP's etc. Like any good mom I devoured any and all information concerning these topics (and this was before the Internet for the most part lol.) I still have many of the books I referred to at the time. Greta is now a junior in college! My second daughter was born in 2001. She was full term, very healthy and the perfect addition to our little family. Lucia is now 17 and a junior in high school! When the girls were younger I was involved in all the traditional family/community related activities. I volunteered with the Girl Scouts, I was "room mother" for more than a couple years, I taught Sunday school etc. I thoroughly enjoyed my time as a stay-at-home mom. I became very close to other families in the community, especially the other mothers. It really was amazing to watch these little kids develop into young responsible adults. (driver's licenses!...can you imagine ?) And yes, it seemed to happen overnight! I certainly had some long days with the kids, but the years seemed to fly by. So now I am looking for the next chapter in my life. I have gravitated towards working with children because that's what I really enjoy!! :)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/10/19

Ratings & reviews

Jan doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional

Education

Early Childhood Education

Graduated Becker College 1987

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Jan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now