Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 55
  • Nanny in Salem, MA 01970

Meet Valerie

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Ready, Set, the park, the library, a museum or home for some fun! Engaging a child’s imagination, exploration and nature to learn are some of the qualities I focus on as a caregiver. For the past 15 years I have worked in the medical field which has been a fulfilling professional experience. However, I want to return to something that gives me great joy and purpose - working with children. My introduction to education was working for a privately owned Nursery school upon graduating from Marymount Manhattan College in NYC. I was very fortunate that my employer saw potential in combining my theatre background with education. My classes were 2-3 and 4-5 yr old. In addition, I often provided child care to my students during school vacations and summer break. While teaching, it was a natural step to go on to leading Theatre workshops for all ages. One of Read more my favorite was an improv class for 4th & 5th graders. Their favorite game was building a machine by using their ingenuity to create parts from their voices and bodies. During my years working in the medical field here on the North Shore, I have spent time volunteering for Horizons for Homeless Children along with caring for friends' kids while on fun filled play dates. I have always appreciated children's curiosity, imagination and love to explore. I was fortunate to work and learn from an educator that felt the way to a child’s heart for learning was to foster those very same things. I am wanting to bring that purpose back into my professional life through the opportunity of being a supportive caregiver in young people’s lives fostering their joy and growth.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check results did not meet requirements for badge, so you should contact the caregiver directly to see the results. What does this background check cover?

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file



  • Generally available mornings, late nights and weekends


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/10/19

Ratings & reviews

Valerie doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting


  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)


Marymount Manhattan College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Valerie's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now