Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 11 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Nanny in California, MD 20619

Meet Rachel

  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! I am a 26-year-old graduate from Eastern Mennonite University. I was recently laid off from my job at a television station due to downsizing and decided I wished to pursue a path in childcare rather than media as some of the best, most fulfilling jobs I've had over the years have been working with children. In the summer of 2010 I worked as a nanny to two elementary school aged boys (8 and 10). My duties included providing a structured day for them which consisted of studying, completing worksheets, outside play, preparing breakfast and lunch together, and sometimes visiting the local pool or arcade. More recently, I watched two young girls during the summer of 2014 (aged 5 and 7) who involved more creative play such as storytelling, arts and crafts, swimming games, and dress-up. Both families also had pets which I was happy to take care of throughout Read more the day. Throughout my years providing childcare, I have worked with ages ranging from toddlers to teenagers, and I have felt comfortable with them all. I grew up with two younger siblings, and as the eldest, it was often my job to watch after them while my parents ran errands or went out of town for a weekend. I have also been involved in church activities which required me to watch large groups of children for short periods of time including Bible study groups and Vacation Bible School. I am extremely passionate about providing safe, healthy, and creative learning spaces for children. I love finding new activities, projects, and crafts for them to do, and participating in creating is just as fun for me as it is for them. I also have a lot of experience in cooking and love making meals, especially if the process can be collaborative. (I have experience with vegetarian and allergy-friendly diets as well.) Please feel free to contact me if you have any more questions or concerns. I am not CPR certified but would absolutely be willing to take a course if you feel that is necessary for your child's needs. Thank you so much, and I look forward to hearing from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/5/17

Ratings & reviews

Rachel doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Digital Media

Graduated Eastern Mennonite University 2016

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Rachel's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now