JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Shayna M.

Nanny in Germantown, MD 20874.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Germantown, MD

  • Age 31
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Preferred Rate $12-$15 per hour

Shayna’s Bio

Hi :)
My name is Shayna and I graduated from Penn State University in May 2008 with a degree in Elementary & Kindergarten Education following a yearlong internship in a kindergarten classroom in the State College Area School District. I am originally from Souderton, Pennsylvania (about an hour north of Philly) and my husband, Kyle, and I are spending the winter in Wellington, Florida! Kyle is a golf professional and is working at Wanderers Golf Club from November-April, then we'll be returning up north for the Spring-Fall months.
   We just got married and returned from our honeymoon in St. Maarten.  Now that we're settled in Wellington, I'm ready to start substitute teaching, babysitting, and gaining event/party planning experience on the side! If you can use a babysitter who is enthusiastic about working with kids, organized and loves spending time outdoors, please don't hesitate to ask if my availbility could match your needs!
I have lots of experience working with children of all ages in a variety of settings (Boys & Girls Club counselor, camp counselor, babysitter, nanny, church nursery caregiver, student teacher, substitute teacher, etc.) and I try to provide a fun learning environment for the children who I have the opportunity to spend time with. I am responsible, creative, and friendly! I love to cook, spend time outside, read, play, write, see new sights, and try to get the most out of each day. I'm a non-smoker with my own, fully-insured transportation. I am also CPR and First Aid certified. Feel free to contact me with questions or for more information.
I have connected with many wonderful families in Pennsylvania and Florida over the past few years, and look forward to meeting more, including yours! Consistently across families, I've seen parents who work hard and don't get enough time to relax or go out and play or just don't feel as though they have enough hands or time to do all that they need to do. Since they can't clone themselves, and everyone deserves a chance to take a little break once in awhile, I'm happy to help by being a reliable sitter who can be on call for those times, whether it's regular or occasional care that you might need. 
I have additional references available as well as a sitting resume. Thanks and I look forward to hearing from (and meeting) you soon :)
Note: I am a day-to-day substitute teacher in the Palm Beach County School Districts, so I will not be setting up any babysitting jobs during school hours (unless it's a day when schools will be closed).  Nights, weekends, overnights, party/event childcare or assistance, I'm yours :)  
Note #2: I did not have my background check done through the website because I had already paid to have it done for teaching. I'd be happy to show you a copy of my clearances if you'd like! Please do not let it deter you from contacting me.
VACATION AVAILABILITY NOTICE: I love to travel and I love to work with kids. If you can use a sitter for your upcoming vacation, please do not hesitate to contact me! I have a current passport and we can work out a schedule/rate that works for both of us so that you can get the most out of your vacation! 


Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Social Studies


Judy L. is a reference for Shayna M.
Mary O. is a reference for Shayna M.
Jump to Top
Shayna M.
Shayna M.
Germantown, MD 20874

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $12-$15 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now