JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Laurie E.

Nanny in Takoma Park, MD 20912.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Takoma Park, MD

  • Age 29
  • 14 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Preferred Rate $20-$30 per hour

Laurie’s Bio

I have been babysitting since I was 13 years old, which is about 13 years of experience. I've always loved being able to be my goofy, playful self, without ego and judgement. I find that I can connect on that level and at a heart level with children as well, to nurture healthy social/emotional and self-reliability development. Also I love teaching about the world around them to encourage wonder and participation. I basically hope to be the type of presence in a child's life that role models have been to me.

I recently left a child development center, working with around 11-20 (2-3 year old) children and 4-5 co-workers in the classroom. I absolutely LOVED working there and it was difficult to leave. For the year I was there, I built very deep relationships with the children and their families in my classroom and continue to babysit children from both school years.

In terms of discipline, I detest corporal punishment and do not believe in that as an option. I have also reported a former employee for child abuse. I believe talking with children to explain morals and help them understand and personalize the ideas is the most effective way to help guide children in a healthy direction.

My interests are sports (mainly soccer), arts (crafts, photography, pottery, drawing, etc.), and outdoor activities (hiking, camping/backpacking, walking, biking, exploring, climbing trees, building snow forts, gardening, etc.) and playing games (board, card, building elaborate train sets, playing pretend, etc). I am also interested in human nature (psychology, sociology, anthropology, philosophy/spiritual philosophy), and music (djembe drums, piano, learning guitar, etc.)

I have current CPR, First Aid, and Medicine Administration Training certification, and drive my own 4 door car.


Age Specific Experience

14 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

1 year of infant care experience

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 12/31/15

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Homework Help:

  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • English
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Corina P. is a reference for Laurie E. Relationship: Co-worker
Sarah K. is a reference for Laurie E. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Laurie E.
Laurie E.
Takoma Park, MD 20912

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$30 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now