Sittercity home

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Nanny in Grand Rapids, MI 49505

Meet Shannen

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been a Certified Professional Nanny for over 15 years. I graduated from Northwest Nannies Institute in Lake Oswego, OR in 2005. 1st long term family- I cared for 1 boy and 1 girl, ages 14 months and 2 years old when i started. I was with this family for a total of 7 years (with a few years off in between when I lived out of state.) When I left that job they were 10 and 11 years old. 2nd long term family- I cared for 1 girl age 3 years old when I started. She is a special needs child with mental and physical disabilities. I was with this family for 4 years . She was 6 years old at the end of the job. 3rd long term family- I cared for 2 girls, ages 2 months and 2 years when I started. I was with this Read more family for 2.5 years. They are now 3 and almost 5. I would also like to add that, before I became a nanny, I have over 5 years experience working in a group home with 8 adult clients with varying mental and physical disabilities. I am also currently CPR/First Aid Certified in infants, children and adults. I am also fully vaccinated against Covid-19 and I will not work for parents that are not vaccinated. A little about me: I was born and raised in Iowa. Lived in Florida briefly, then NYC for about 1 year, and then lived in Portland, OR for 18 years, in between that time I lived in Kaua’i, HI for 1 year. I moved here to Grand Rapids, MI a little over 3 years ago with my husband and my dog and we bought our first house 2 years ago. I love being a Nanny. I love the outdoors, so my favorite things to do with kids are nature walks, playgrounds, zoos, etc. I also enjoy taking kids to the Children’s Museum, libraries, etc. In the home I love reading to kids, listening to music, singing/dancing. I am still really close with my 3 previous families, I love all of “my kids” as if they were my own. We all still keep in touch with each other often and get together for dinners when we can. I have 3 amazing letters of recommendation from all 3 of my Nanny Moms that I will bring to any interviews I have and you are free to call any of them. The kids as well as the parents are still and will always be a part of my family. I have been blessed with 3 great families over the years and I’m looking for my 4th great one!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Available to start on 9/6/2021
  • My availability is valid through 9/6/21

Ratings & reviews

Shannen doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Down Syndrome
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Attended Northwest Nannies Institute


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Proofreading

Share Shannen's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now