Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 69
  • Nanny in Albany, NY 12201

Meet Sandra

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Currently doing PT flexible on weekends/ evenings. Interested in weekdays. I have recently been a Nanny for 1 child for approximately 2 1/2 yrs, and have a great reference from this mother. Now beginning my new search and will need some time to update my profile. Teaching, playing with and caring for children has always been a, for me the rewards are endless. My strong belief is that education and developmental growth between infancy to age six are the years that create a strong foundation for progressive learning for children’s entire lives. I am looking for a position that allows me to spend concentrated time, having fun doing stimulating learning activities that are age appropriate. The length of the activity will be determined by the child’s interest, attention span, and of course the parent's wishes. My childcare approach is to alternate fun and learning activities, children do better when they Read more have a schedule and plenty of love and encouragement. Most recently, I was employed as a full time live in nanny for 3 children ages 5,3 and and a newborn in upstate NY. During another position, the child (infant to 5 yrs) and I enjoyed many activities; play groups, weekly library programs, the zoo, town park, pool, reading, learning games. Later, I enrolled him in t-ball and preschool while continuing his learning activities at home. At entrance into Kindergarten, he tested at the beginning of first grade in reading and middle of first grade in math on the CA state proficiency exams.   Experience Ø 24 hour care of male child from infancy through age 5 Ø 8 years-employment in public schools; including Board of Cooperative Educational Services of New York and Early Childhood Education Center in Latham, NY for children with disabilities Ø Instructional assistant, tutor and sign language interpreter teaching children with autism, DS, ADD, ADHD, paraplegic, with a concentration in the hearing impaired Ø 15+ years of consecutive volunteer-teaching elementary students in Sunday school, Vacation Bible school and infant nursery Ø Raising four of my own children who each have their own professions Ø For five years, cared for 5 local children from newborn to ten years old, on call basis   Certifications   Ø CPR – Adult, Children, Infant Ø FIRST AID   Thank you for reviewing my profile. Sandra

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/31/18

Ratings & reviews

4.8 4.8 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

1

0

0

0

Amy D.

7/9/2015

A couple weeks before my twin brothers wedding my childcare fell through for my 3 yr old daughter for the night of the wedding. She was a flower girl but wouldn't be attending the reception. I wasin a panic as all family that could help were attending the wedding. I put an add up for the job but of course was very hesitant and nervous about having someone I didn't know watching my child. I brought my daughter to meet Sandra for coffee for an interview a few days before the wedding. I was immediately at ease and comfortable with her as a person and her experience with childcare. She clicked with my daughter immediately as well, even helped me get her into her car seat when she was being cranky and didn't want to leave. She knew just how to communicate with her. The Wedding night went perfect. Sandra was on time and ready to play with my daughter in my hotel room. She even brought some toys and bubbles with her to entertain my little one. It was perfect. I only texted to check on how things were going once throughout the night because I was so at ease that my daughter was safe and happy. When I got back to my hotel room my daughter was sound asleep and the next morning was asking me why Sandra had to go home. She wanted to keep playing with her. What a great experience, thank you Sandra for saving the day!!! I will definitely get in touch again for childcare needs when I visit upstate and I highly recommend her for childcare services.

Gabrielle S.

10/11/2012

Sandra was punctual and engaging. She spent a lot of time reading with my daughter. They went for walks and overall my daughter had a good time with her.

Eileen F.

5/3/2012

Sandra is fantastic!! I was in from out of town for an all-day meeting with my co-workers at my boss's house, and had to have my two year old with me. I was a bit nervous about how the day would go. Sandra was with him in the house for the whole day. She kept him happy and occupied the whole time! It was raining, so they were pretty much stuck in an upstairs bedroom the entire time. He took to her right away, and was happy playing with her, even though mommy was right downstairs. That says alot with my mommy-obsessed little guy. He clearly enjoyed the time he spent with her, and I would definately recommend her and use her again if the need arose.

Melissa S.

1/9/2012

LOVED Sandra, we are sooo SAD she moved away on us! We miss her dearly! Melissa and Derek and our 3 Beautiful D's

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$13-$15/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Sign Language

Education

Elementary Education

Graduated Northeast College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers

Share Sandra's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now