Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Nanny in Astoria, NY 11102

Meet Christina

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Christina, I am a super fun, smiley, creative babysitter/ nanny with 8 years of paid experience in both daycares and private homes, and I have a sincere love and passion for children!! I began working afternoons at a wonderful preschool when I was in high school and only left after 3 years when I began college, at which point I was employed at a day care center closer to school. Over the course of 4 years (from 2009-2013), my responsibilities ranged from working in the infant room with children as young as 6 weeks old, to coordinating the after school program, summer camp program, cooking, and Spanish program. During this time, I also babysat for countless families throughout the center on a weekly basis, and quickly gained the reputation as the "go-to babysitter" for all of our families! I left the center in June 2013 when a Read more family from my daycare offered me a full-time summer nanny job for their two adorable girls, ages 2 and 4, and although I initially had the intention to return to the center in the fall, I absolutely fell in love with my nanny family and they offered me a year-round position until I moved to Astoria in January 2013. While the position began as a nanny, it soon evolved into a household manager/ personal assistant job, as I also ran daily household errands, supervised major home maintenance projects, and managed multiple employees in the home Upon my transition to NYC, I met a wonderful couple on the Upper East Side and was employed as the full-time nanny for their absolutely infant daughter until they moved to Connecticut in March. Soon after, I registered with a SoHo-based nanny agency, and was offered a position internally as the Nanny Placement Specialist. While I found my job quite satisfying, I have felt a void in my life, as this is the first time in almost a decade that I have not been surrounded by children. I miss becoming an extension of another family, giving parents the reassurance and peace of mind that their children are being cared for with the utmost respect and love, and creating a lifelong bond with the children while also knowing that I am an integral part of their growth and development. Because of this, I am seeking an opportunity to work with children again. I have open availability (early mornings, nights, weekends, etc.), I have a valid U.S. passport for international travel, and I am happy to start ASAP. If you think I might be a good fit for your family, please feel free to contact me!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/24/14

Ratings & reviews

Christina doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Sign Language

Education

Double Major in English Literature and Child Psychology

Graduated Central Connecticut State University 2013

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Christina's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now