JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Age 37
  • Nanny in Astoria, NY 11103

Meet Shipe

  • Comfortable with pets

I have been working as a nanny for nine years (since 2010) & have several families for whom I regularly provide care. I've graduated from Hunter College & received my Bachelor of Arts in Political Science. As a teenager, I wanted to become a lawyer. So immediately after college, I applied to Thomas Cooley Law School in Lansing, Michigan & was accepted. A year later, I realized that this wouldn't be the right profession for me because years of difficult training, finding steady work and racking up exorbitant amounts of student debt are some of the drawbacks associated with jobs in the field of law. So I packed my things & left Michigan & law school in a place that I could never change: my past. Yet, I knew I needed to make some career decisions that would benefit me in the one place that mattered the most: my future. Read more I decided to return to New York City and when doing so I was seeking employment that was demanding yet rewarding. It was during this time that I applied for my very first nanny position. First let s state the obvious: Babysitters and nannies must love kids & I definitely do. Seeing their faces light up from the littlest things is so satisfying to me because it shows that I am establishing a connection to them. I have a natural way with kids and they always enjoy me as much as I enjoy them. Many times, I find myself having more things in common w/ kids then I do w/ adults. They're smart, honest, affectionate & they help you get out of your own head for a little while.Taking care of another person is a great exercise in reminding yourself that being the center of the universe isn't always the best thing. I currently work full time for a family in Forest Hills whose toddler son is 18 months old. However, I'm looking for additional work (preferably on weekends) because I absolutely love my job and love working with children. My rate is $16-$20 an hour. If you're still interested, please contact me for this position. Thank you

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Will consider a part time position
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/24/19

Ratings & reviews

Shipe doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for children per sitting

$16-$20/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Shipe's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now