JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Nanny in Astoria, NY 11102

Meet Masa

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

I graduated from Stony Brook University , NY in May of 2012 (with a Multidisciplinary major degree), and as I am currently applying for my graduate studies, I am also looking for a babysitting job. I have nannying experience with a variety of children. I took care of the kids of my Junior College volleyball coach for a few months in 2007-2008 ( 3 kids - 5,6, and 7 years old). The youngest, a boy, was an extremely active child; he loved running and playing outdoors, and I enjoyed that as well. The two older children, two girls, were more quiet and calm; they loved reading, coloring, and drawing, and also interacting with people. I engaged in these activities with the girls. Currently, I am helping my friend with her two children, primarily in the evenings and on the weekends. The children are of ages 3 and 7. The little 3 year Read more old girl is an active, social child, always looking to play with people and to make new friends. She also likes to color and play princess games. The 7 year old boy enjoys playing outdoors; he is really into taekwondo, and he also likes to read. I spend time with the kids outdoors, and we also read books together. However, as I do not have a set schedule to assist my friend, I am available to begin nannying children any time, any day. I am comfortable with taking care of kids of all ages. I do not have children of my own, nor do I have pets, but I would like to have kids after I have finished my studies. I also like pets. I used to stay with a family (2011-2012) for a few months that has 3 dogs, and I truly liked being around them. I helped taking care of the dogs by feeding them and letting them go outside to the backyard. I speak Serbian--which is my native language. I am fluent in English, and I speak a little bit of Russian and Spanish.  My philosophy regarding caring for children is manyfold; I believe it is important to be actively engaged in spending time with the kids. I listen to the children and attend to their needs with care. I address children patiently and with kindness and thereby wish to model good behavior so that the kids see the value in good manners. As far as specific rules of behavior for the children, I always look to follow the parents' wishes. I will be interested in finding out what are the rules that the family wants the kids to follow, and I will adhere to those rules as well. I love to play outdoors with kids, and some of my favorite things to do are any type of games outside that involve playing with a ball. I also enjoy indoors activities; I like to read and play memory games. I am a very social and outgoing person. I would love to babysit because I love kids and truly enjoy being around them, taking care of them, and playing with them.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • My availability is valid through 10/10/13

Ratings & reviews

Masa doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$15/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Visual Impairment

Education

Multidisciplinary Studies

Graduated Stony Brook University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Masa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now