Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Nanny in Brooklyn, NY 11233

Meet Malisa

  • Comfortable with pets

I'm a 27 year old full time nanny new to the city. I have lived and nannied in Louisville, KY and then moved to NYC with my husband for his job. Besides many years of babysitting and daycare experience, I have worked full time with one family in Brooklyn and two different families in Louisville after a career change from social work. I have worked with my first family for about a year and a half. The children were 3 and 4 and half when I stopped working for them. This family treated me like family and I took on many extra responsibilities with them. I stayed many weekends overnight with them when parents were out of town. I really valued working alongside of these parents and tackling development milestones (potty training a main one) as they come. I've been asked to take other playmates on trips to the zoo Read more and park and briefly watched a third child (a family friend's baby) when they were searching for daycare. The second family only needed a nanny for a few months but I learned a lot in that time. The baby was 6 months old when I started with them. I learned a lot about handling breastmilk, introducing new foods, cloth diapering and sleep training. We spent most of our days playing around the house and going for walks. The family in Brooklyn has three children 1.5, 5, and 7. This has been a good transition job for me coming into a new city but for several reasons, would like to find a family offering a little less than full time hours. I am experienced with children with behavioral and emotional issues (from working in the foster care system as a case manager) and am comfortable with some pets, transporting children, occasional overnight stays, meal prep, potty training and more. Looking for a family that needs a nanny 3-4 days a week but am flexible to do more. I’ve had different levels of involvement with the families I’ve worked for and prefer finding a couple/ parent that is down to earth and has open communication!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/14/18

Ratings & reviews

Malisa doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$21-$25/hr for the first child, $8 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Psychology and Missions

Graduated Asbury University 2012

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Malisa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now