JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Rachel A.

Nanny in Brooklyn, NY 11218.

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Brooklyn, NY

  • Age 34
  • 18 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5
Rachel is a real-life Super Nanny!

Rachel has been caring for our son Sam for the last three years. I can vouch for the fact that every detail of...

- Robert M.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

Rachel’s Bio

Greetings, parents! My name is Rachel. As a nanny, I am committed to ensuring a safe, nurturing, and stimulating environment for your child. I have been called "the baby whisperer" because of my knack for lulling infants to sleep. (I love to sing, plus I have a few other tricks up my sleeve.)

My 18 years of childcare experience includes:
- 6 years as a full- or part-time nanny to children 3 months to 6 years old
- 12 years as an occasional babysitter for infants to pre-teens
- Caring for an infant and a toddler or preschooler simultaneously
- Several years of experience caring for infants, including all aspects of daily care

I have taught babies to communicate through “baby sign language” before they were able to speak. Signs included: more, please, all done, help, milk, dog, and cat.

I am the type of nanny who loves to make kids laugh by being silly and goofy, and happily gets down on the floor with them to play make-believe games or build elaborate train tracks. However, I can be firm if need be when it comes to setting limits, maintaining routines, and encouraging the completion of age-appropriate responsibilities (e.g. cleaning up toys).

Some of the activities I like to plan are nature exploration, science experiments, and art projects. I play piano and ukulele, and have studied various forms of dance. I love to engage children in music and movement. I actively seek out new places to visit, such as museums, parks, and even farms! (I have driven a child to these places in the NYC area.)

I aim to encourage creativity, curiosity, and self-confidence in children by following their lead when it comes to what interests them. For example, if we are out for a walk and they become fascinated by an ant hill, I will gladly let them stop to investigate for as long as they like. In fact, I will turn it into a learning opportunity, prompting them to think about what the ants are doing and why.

I love to cook and can prepare healthy meals for your children. I have experience with cooking for special diets, including whole foods, gluten-free, and vegetarian/vegan.

I am seeking a full-time, live-out nanny position. I have been with the same wonderful Brooklyn family for 2 ¾ years. The only reason I am looking for a new position is that their child is now in kindergarten, therefore my hours have been reduced.

I would be happy to provide childcare references upon request.

Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

18 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Available to start on 10/17/2016

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/31/16

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5
Rachel is a real-life Super Nanny!

Rachel has been caring for our son Sam for the last three years. I can vouch for the fact that every detail of her bio is accurate and that there are a great many things that aren't included that add to her value. Our son is now in school full-day and we can't offer her the same hours that we once did, so we are very sad that we may lose her.

Rachel has been more than a nanny to our son since she started with us. We received over 85 applications when we posted the job three years ago and knew she was the perfect fit from the onset of the very first play date that we scheduled with her. You will not easily find someone like her, who will always treat your child as an individual, adapting to their changing needs over time and supporting them fully every step of the way. I never know what to expect when I arrive home (I mean that in the best way possible) because she always has new and exciting things planned day in and day out.

I honestly don't recall Rachel ever calling out sick and can truthfully say that she is the caregiver that all of our friends ask to share or "borrow" to care for their kids when they are in need. She has easily taken our son Sam to over 100 different destinations in the tri-state area over the years, and has used her various passions and skills to teach him valuable lessons that he wouldn't ordinarily have learned otherwise. I don't think there is an orchard, museum, playground, farm, garden, pet store or park that they haven't been to together. We also trust her fully to use our car with him for both long and short trips..

I'm available anytime to speak to any parents who are looking for someone like the person I described above. She is truly one in a million.

- Robert M.
Jump to Top
Rachel A.
Rachel A.
Brooklyn, NY 11218
34

years
of age

18

years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now