JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 33
  • Nanny in Long Island City, NY 11101

Meet Mia

  • Speaks English and Spanish

When babysitting, my greatest joys are seeing how children engage with words, books, and create their own worlds.  I’m sure this stems from the fact that I’m an actor, but it certainly allows me to learn something new each time I babysit.  How do I help children balance being independent thinkers as well as group participants and co-creators?  How do children play and discover while also being polite and understanding?  How do I develop a clear way to communicate that builds trust with the families that employ me?  Fortunately, the answers to these questions depend on the needs of the children I’m babysitting and their parents, therefore, the answers are constantly changing and providing me with more ways to successfully navigate how I babysit. In addition to having babysitting and childcare experience with children ages 2-5, I have also had the opportunity to work with children ages 9 to 17 Read more as a camp counselor and as an acting, playwriting, and music teacher at summer camps in RI and MS.  I’m currently in the process of producing my one woman show, but during my free time, I enjoy reading, writing, singing, practicing yoga, walking/running, listening to music/the violin, cooking, baking cookies, exploring museums, sewing, watching movies ( Finding Nemo and Chicken Little are on my top twenty list), and making homemade popcorn.  I can also speak some basic Spanish, drive a car, and have a NY Driver’s License.  *Please note that I have had a background check performed, but not through Sittercity.com. I can provide proof of this.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Available to start on 8/11/2015
  • My availability is valid through 9/30/15

Ratings & reviews

Mia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Acting (MFA)

Brown University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Mia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now