Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 20
  • Nanny in New York, NY 10162
Responder ready badge: A light blue color badge with a red heart on the left side with the text 'Responder ready' in capital letters on the right side

This sitter is available to families participating in our partnership with front-line responders fighting against the spread of COVID-19. Learn more

Meet Alice

  • Comfortable with pets

I have always loved working with children and have lots of experience! I am a rising junior at Wake Forest University with a major in Sociology and a minor in Writing. I was intending to work as a cabin counselor at Camp Walt Whitman in New Hampshire this summer, but unfortunately, that does not appear to be happening. However, I would still like to spend my summer caring for children! Below I have detailed three of my most important experiences with children. For other relevant experience, please view my resume. My most important job working with children was as a nanny in high school. For three years, I picked up two children, one boy and one girl, from school and supervised them until their parents got home. When I started the boy was two and the girl was seven. I often prepared snacks, helped with homework, and played games with Read more the kids. I would also babysit them on weekends if their parents went out. Since I knew them over the course of three years, I was able to develop a close relationship with the family, and we have remained in touch even though I am in college now. Additionally, throughout high school, I was a tutor at the East Harlem Tutorial Program. Here, I worked with two middle school students every week to assist them with their reading, writing, math, and science homework. I learned a lot about different tutoring techniques, and was also able to form a mentor/mentee relationship with my students. Currently, at Wake Forest, I am a mentor with a program called Project Launch. Every other week, I go to a local middle school where I meet with the same group of middle school girls to lead a discussion on issues relevant to their lives. Ranging in topics from bullying to schoolwork to friendships, these conversations have allowed me to bond with the girls and create lasting relationships. I would love to work for you and your children this summer! I am an energetic college student who is ready to entertain and care for your children. I believe in being an involved caretaker, and as such, I will play with the children rather than let them watch TV all day. Additionally, I am happy to take them outside to the park, run errands, help with housework, and meal prep. I am willing to do anything that I can to help make you and your children's lives easier!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/19/20

Ratings & reviews

Alice doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$30/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Sociology

Currently attending Wake Forest University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Alice's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now