JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Martie M.

Nanny in Schenectady, NY 12309.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Niskayuna, NY

  • Age 63
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Martie’s Bio

My passion is watching the world through a baby's or toddler's eyes.  Things that we take for granted are all so new and exciting for them.  Everything is a learning experience.  Watching a baby find it's hand for the first time, or be able to put a toy into it's mouth is just priceless to me.
I went to Maria College for Early Childhood Education, and to SUNY, at which I got a bachelor's in Soc./Psych in 2008 with a cum laude degree.
I raised two sons alone, and they are now fine young men fulfilling their own life goals.  I am so proud of them!
My friends will tell you that I have an innate ability to see a child's needs and fix it before it  becomes an issue.  I swear, I can put a fussy infant to sleep in under two minutes.  My friends playfully call me "the baby whisperer". I am a "kid magnet", and I love it.
I have worked as a nanny of an infant who is now three, another now two, and my current baby who is 11 months.  They all make my heart sing. I have worked in DayCare settings, and I now watch babies within my own home. I cared for a little boy for ten months until September, and now watch an pre-toddler baby girl PT.  This is a job in which I am not totally comfortable, and am looking to find a better match.  Being at home saves me in gas and travel expences, and since I know my area I know where we can walk to a park, drive to the library for baby hour, go to Central Park to see the ducks or watch other kids on a playground, etc.  And, as I said, I have literally everything!! I have also become certified as a foster Parent of babies born addicted to heroin or cocaine, and help them get through withdrawal. To see a baby in pain and sick, then when clean the real personality coming out just melts my heart. I do not currently have a foster baby.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Age groups: Infant, Toddler, Youth
Has own special needs child
Years of Experience: More than 10 years

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Epilepsy
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Premature Newborn
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 6/28/16

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Sign Language

Additional Services:

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Yanzhen L. is a reference for Martie M. Relationship: Former Employer
Monica K. is a reference for Martie M. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top
Martie M.
Martie M.
Niskayuna, NY 12309
63

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • Enhanced Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now