Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 37
  • Nanny in White Plains, NY 10603

Meet Bary Alyssa

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi there, Let me begin by introducing myself - my name is Bary Alyssa Johnson, I'm 33 years old, college educated (bachelors degree in psychology with a minor in childhood education from Clemson University), have years upon years of experience babysitting children of all ages ranging from about 4-14 (give or take), amazing references from families I've worked for that I'd be glad to provide upon request, a soul-deep love for working with children and an honest desire to make sure I cater to each child I care for well enough to ensure that they develop their own soul-deep love for spending time with their new favorite sitter (yours truly, of course) as we foster a a positive and nurturing relationship between kid and caretaker. I've spent the past 10 post-college years working as a journalist for various media outlets while also holding down a number of steady and generally Read more long-term babysitting/nanny jobs for families all throughout Westchester County. In addition to that, I've volunteered as a"homework helper" for the Salvation Army's after-school care program in White Plains as well as volunteering to provide after-school care through similar programs at a handful of elementary schools in S.C. during the years I spent living, as the brilliant poet Nikki Giovanni so eloquently described it as "the barefoot South where everything is pretty." Aside from my devotion to childcare and news reporting, other beloved hobbies of mine include reading just about any and everything I can get my hands on (I've been an avid reader since the day I picked up my first book), the art of fashion, writing creatively, music (!!!), taking long drives to see new places, crossword puzzles, playing with my two dogs (Max, a 2-year-old golden doodle and Riley (an 8-year-old Yorkie), watching movies, spending time with my new (1st!) nephew who just recently turned 1, debating and conversing with friends, doing a lot of anonymous solo charity work (mostly focused on gathering bunches and bunches of used books and donating them to a women's homeless shelter in the Bronx)...and, well, my list of interests could go on indefinitely but I think u get the gist of my essential character. And so there you have it...me, in a nutshell

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/6/18

Ratings & reviews

Bary Alyssa doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology (minor in childhood education)

Graduated Clemson University 2005

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Bary Alyssa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now