JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Coralee A.

Nanny in Portland, OR 97202.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Portland, OR

  • Age 27
  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $12-$20 per hour

Coralee’s Bio

 
I was born and raised in SE Portland, which has definitely shaped who I am and how I view the world. I read books, do arts and crafts, help solve puzzles, play games, and make forts. I'm great at preparing delicious and nutritious meals. I've grown up with dogs small and large (100 lb boxer) , cats, rats, lizards, snakes, fish, and a parrot named Lulu, so pets are always a plus for me!
I have a lifetime of experience with children which explains my natural ease and talent with them. Since I was a young child I have enjoyed being a positive influence, teacher, student, playmate, and companion of children smaller than myself. My first job was a swim instructor for the City of Portland where I taught kids from the ages of 3 to 12 to swim. In high school I was an Outdoor School Student Leader  known as "Arrow"  and worked many one week sessions teaching science to 6th graders (11-12 yrs old) in the forest. As a counselor I was responsible for a cabin of 10 girls  from different schools around Oregon many experiencing their first long absence from home. In the afternoon  I taught classes in the soil field study.  During those years I was also a babysitter for 3 of my high school teachers because of the respect they had for me as a student. After  graduating I couldn't imagine another 4 years trying to learn crammed in to a classroom. I decided to get a different kind of  education by traveling across the globe to India. There I volunteered at a school called Mother Miracle and  taught English to wonderfully intelligent and magical children living in the slums, for three months. Indian culture and children stole my heart. In 2010 I worked for 11 months as a nanny/sitter for 3 different magnificent families. One family had an 8 (growing to 13) mo old boy, another 3 boys ages 2,4,6 and a family with 2 girls ages 1 and 3.
Since then I have been traveling in India, SE Asia, Central America and Northwest America. On these travels I've been studying farming by volunteering through WWOOF, studying yoga, going to Satsang with Guru Shanti Mayi, and living in community settings.

I currently nanny on Monday, Thursday and Friday for a 9 month old. I am hoping to find a position on Tuesdays and Wednesdays as well. I am also available on weekends.

I do not drive. I rely on my legs, bicycle or Trimet for transportation.
Ideally my rate is $14/hr for one or two children.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

9 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/1/16

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • French
  • Hindi

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • French
  • Hindi

References

Angela S. is a reference for Coralee A.
Angela S. is a reference for Coralee A.
Jump to Top
Coralee A.
Coralee A.
Portland, OR 97202
27

years
of age

9

years experience

Preferred Rate $12-$20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now