JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Nanny in Portland, OR 97214

Meet Emily

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I currently work as a supervisor at psychiatric residential treatment center caring for 12 clients ranging from 14-17 years old. Prior to working in my current position I have 6 years of experience working direct care for varying ages of individuals. I began my career with direct care while in college. I worked as a caretaker at a group home, caring for 4 men ranging from 40-85 years old. After graduating from the University of Minnesota with a Bachelor of Science in Child Psychology, I moved back home to Chicago to start a new job working with 5th and 6th grade students in a therapeutic day school specializing in working with children diagnosed with Austrian Spectrum Disorder among other diagnoses. After a year working with this incredible population, I moved out west to complete a year of service with Americorps National Civilian Community Corps. Through my year of service, I Read more was able to work with children in 4 different communities and settings, getting them involved and caring about their communities. My love for the west coast and the great outdoors, along with my still burning passion for teaching children, brought me to my next career, taking me to the San Bernardino Mountains in Southern California. I started my journey in outdoor education, teaching and caring for 12-14 6th graders each week while they explored independence and science in the most beautiful classroom of all - The Mountains! Following completely the school year, finding summer employment brought me to the PNW. From there I began my current career in mental health helping teenagers replace unhealthy coping skills with new, healthier ways to manage processing through trauma and the everyday challenges life brings, especially that of a teenager in today’s world! Working with children is my passion and I am hopeful that I will find a family to help serve. Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions! Additionally, cooking is a passion of mine. I am more than happy to help your family prepare healthy meals for the week or after school snacks. I would even love to get the kids involved in the kitchen and make things fun and exciting! My current availablitity is Sun-Wed after 5 PM, all day Thurs-Sat

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Will consider a part time position
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/9/19

Ratings & reviews

Emily doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$18-$25/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Child psychology

Graduated University of Minnesota - Twin Cities 2014

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Emily's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now