Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 42
  • Nanny in Portland, OR 97236

Meet Kathryn

  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

  Dear Prospective Employer,               I am a dedicated and passionate educator interested in becoming a nanny for your family.               I have an Oregon Initial 1 Teaching License: Special Education at the Early Childhood/Elementary/Middle level. I recently attended Portland Community College to further my education in Early Childhood Development. I have eight years experience including working and volunteering at camps for the severely disabled, Hippotherapy, regular education and special education classes. I have enjoyed teaching in a wide variety of settings including after school programs, tutoring, preschools, and classrooms for students who are moderately to severely disabled. I would like to work with your family in a team orientated environment where I can utilize my capabilities and strengths creating positive learning experiences for your children.               I have experience with and enjoy teaching a wide variety of students. Developing curriculum to suit the students learning needs Read more and providing a positive and relaxed atmosphere for learning have enabled my students and I to be successful. Leading with a positive attitude, communicating with students, staff and parents, and being highly organized have always been essential to my work. Given the opportunity to work for your family, you will see that I put the child’s needs first. I am dedicated to helping every child learn, am passionate about including the physical activity, cooking and education experiences in daily routines, and collaborating with parents in order to deliver quality care and educational experiences to your children. I am very eager to continue working with children and believe I would be an excellent asset to your family.                 

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available mornings and afternoons


  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/8/14

Ratings & reviews

Kathryn doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Rett Syndrome
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support


Special Education

Graduated Grand Canyon University 2008


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Kathryn's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now