JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kathryn (kate) B. - Portland Nanny

Kathryn (kate) B. Nanny in Portland, OR 97206. Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Portland, OR

  • Age 26
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Kathryn (kate)’s Bio

Hello! :) I'm looking for a summer nannying position.
Most important to mention is that I absolutly love spending time with children. I am 25 years old and I have been babysitting since I was about 12 and nannying since I was 16. In 2011 I finished my Masters in Elementary Education with a certification in Special Education.  This school year I have been working in an elementary school in Milwaukie as an assistant in the learning center. I teach reading, writing and social skills groups to kindergarten through fifth graders and I'm loving it. I have worked with kids with special needs such as ADHD, on the autism spectrum, intellectual disabilities, and learning disabilities.
I also do after school tutoring for both students who need extra help and students who benifit from an extra challenge. I see the best in all children and when I work with children with special needs I think it's especially important to help them to see the best in themselves by pointing out when they do someone well and the good qualities that I notice about them.
I believe in setting clear boundaries. When kids are old enough to understand, I make sure to explain the boundaries I am setting. I make sure that the children I nanny for are happy and having fun while also being safe. I swam on a swim team as a kid and have taught swimming lessons so I'm happy to swim with kids and work on swimming skills with them. I'm also happy to tutor while I'm nannying. I studied abroad in Costa Rica so I speak a little bit of Spanish.
If I sound like someone who could be a good fit for your family, please send me a message :)

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Down Syndrome

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help
Jump to Top