JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Nanny in Portland, OR 97214

Meet Lauren

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to read a little bit about me and my experience caring for children. I worked as a nanny and baby sitter for 10 years before transitioning into restaurant work, which has been my primary work for income for the last 2 years (night work had fit better with my previous school schedule). My mother was a foster parent for newborns and toddlers during my middle and high school years, and I started with my first full time nanny family at age 18 (11 years ago). I have cared for children of all ages, newborn to pre-teen. In my years caring for children I have had the wonderful opportunity to work for more than ten different families in three different cities. Needless to say, I have lots of references :) I am naturally and instinctively very in tune with children; how they are feeling, Read more what they need and want, and what is best for them in that moment. I understand and easily coordinate the age-appropriate balance between structured and unstructured play-time, as well as active and quiet times. I appreciate and uphold routines, but I also love exploring with children and having adventures. I am respectful and I take seriously different families' parenting styles including discipline style, diet, routines, traditions, etc. I know how difficult it can be to leave your child with another person, and I can assure you that the safety and well-being of the children I care for is always my highest priority. My favorite activities with children are: playing outside baking reading arts and crafts playing pretend listening to/playing music I take my job very seriously. I am punctual and respectful of families' time and schedules. I am also very flexible and easy to communicate with. I am mindful of leaving spaces clean and clear of toys, the days dishes, etc; I am open to helping out around the house and with errands as well. A few more points about me: CPR First Aid certified non-smoker good cook comfortable with all types of animals Thank you for your consideration!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Available to start on 1/7/2019
  • My availability is valid through 2/3/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Kris G.

10/22/2011

Lauren was flexible, timely, attentive, and lovely. I would hire her again in a heartbeat. My son felt very comfortable with her and said he'd like her sit again.

Amanda S.

10/3/2011

Lauren is fantastic! We brought her in to do share care (two infants, 4 and 5 months respectively) on short notice. She was literally thrown into the deep end - no time for getting used to us or our children. And she did really, really well. Mine was the 4-month old - Lauren was kind, calm, and loving towards her. It made returning to work so much better knowing that I was leaving my little girl with Lauren. At the end of the day, she was happy, rested, well fed...everything I wanted her to be. Lauren got the kids out for walks every day, sang to them, and got down on the floor and played with them. The 5-month old belongs to my husband's business partner - she said her son has NEVER done so well and been so happy with anyone other than her and her husband (including grandparents who he's spent a lot of time with). She was absolutely singing Lauren's praises every single day and I know would echo everything I've written above. Lauren came in during a very, very chaotic time for us. She never seemed stressed by anything and kept the babies clean, fed, happy, and entertained. I think Lauren is probably a chameleon - could adapt to any family.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Community Acupuncture

Graduated 2016

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Lauren's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now