Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 34
  • Nanny in Portland, OR 97232

Meet Emily

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Special Education Certification
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi Everyone! Since before I can remember I have loved being around children-even when I was a child myself! I just finished my 6th year of teaching Pre-kindergarten for Portland Public Schools and absolutely love it! I am currently taking a break from teaching to plan a wedding (it was a success) and take classes towards my Master's degree in Special Education/Environmental Education. I would love to work part time/full time while I further my education through online coursework. In 2008, I graduated from Millikin University with a Bachelors in Early Childhood Education with a Special Education endorsement. I left central Illinois and headed north to Chicago to pursue a teaching career. The competition was high and I ended up nannying. Although I was hesitant at first, because I wanted to teach, it was one of the best things I have ever done. I lucked out with an amazing family Read more that soon became my second family. Still to this day, 9 years later, we share special life moments and get together around the holidays when I am back home! In 2010, I visited Portland and fell in love. I moved here in December and spent the rest of the school year volunteering with SMART(Start Making a Reader Today) and nannying. The following school year I worked as a kindergarten assistant at Beverly Cleary Elementary. Since then, I have taught for a private pre-kindergarten program housed in Beaumont Middle School and Irvington Elementary school. As a teacher and nanny, I am extremely patient and organized.I have my criminal background check, cpr/first aid certified, and continual hours of education to retain my teaching license. I love ah ha moments and as a nanny you really have the opportunity to delve into the child's interests. I love to get out of the house and go on "adventures" whether it's going to to the library for story hour or taking a walk in the park to collect leaves. I love reading books, singing songs, doing creative projects and being out in nature. I look forward to the opportunity to work with you and can provide excellent references! Cheers, Emily *I am hoping to find connections where I am not the "help" but am part of a support system. Looking for something continual not just last minute/one time only.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 12/13/2018.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and late nights

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Available to start on 10/20/2016
  • My availability is valid through 1/12/17

Ratings & reviews

3.5 3.5 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

1

0

Christine O.

4/15/2011

Emily was great when she was with the kids. She accepted a full time position with me and then quit the very next day after I told all of the other candidates the position was filled. She continued to babysit occasionally but then cancelled last minute the night before she was supposed to be babysitting the next morning at 8am due to personal problems (not physical illness). She is nice but unreliable.

Heidi B.

1/8/2011

Emily is Wonderful! This was the first time I used sittercity and I was a little hesitant. However, at the moment I met Emily I knew I made the right decision. Not only is Emily extremely qualified, but she is very comfortable to be around. Plus my son Devin really enjoyed playing with her...so much so that he didn't really notice when I left! This was a great experience and I will defintely ask Emily to babysit for us again. Thanks Emily!

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Delayed Speech
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Administering Medication
    • Injection Assistance

Education

Early Childhood Education

Graduated Millikin University 2008

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science

Share Emily's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now