JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Nicole K. Nanny in Portland, OR 97218.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Portland, OR

  • Age 34
  • 13 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $20-$28 per hour

Nicole’s Bio

Hi Families! I'm Nicole, and I'm looking full-time position! I've been working full time as a nanny for over 13 years now, and have worked with children for the better part of the past 16 years. I've done everything from work as a nanny, tutor, afterschool program leader (and director!), camp counselor, neighborhood babysitter, art tutor,family assistant, household manager, personal assistant and currently I also work as a personal chef and recipe tester for two cookbooks. I'm also a photographer and artist in my own time, often incorporating my experiences working with children into my own work. I try to see the world through my charges eyes whenever possible.

I do not believe in one-size-fits-all childcare. Each child has different strengths, weaknesses, and quirks that need to be taken into consideration when developing a childcare 'plan', and I prefer to tailor my methods to each child whenever possible. This way each child is provided a structure that makes 'sense' to them, that provides the boundaries they need as well as the respect their individual personalities deserve.

As a nanny, I'm active, involved, and creative. A kid at heart, I have just as much fun getting out of the house and discovering new things with my kids as they do! I'm a big fan of exploring OMSI, the Oregon Zoo, The Portland Children's Museum, and especially all of the amazing outdoor resources the Northwest has to offer! I strongly believe children benefit from a balance between organized activities and outings and less structured 'free' play time where they can be free to be themselves and explore within a safe, comfortable environment. As with everything, flexibility is key, and any great nanny must know how to adapt their practices as the child grows and their needs evolve. Working closely with parents, I've come to form strong relationships with the families who employ me, and make every effort to work as a team, whether I'm working with a stay-at-home parent or a jet-setting family with a calendar full of appointments. My experience with household management has had me planning parties, running errands, pitching in when the housekeeper calls in sick, and always staying two steps ahead of the family I'm working with. While my most recent positions have been strictly childcare, I'd love to find another position where I can utilize my organizational skills and put my neurotic to-do-list making habit to good use!


Age Specific Experience

13 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 9/1/17

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
Jump to Top
Nicole K.
Nicole K.
Portland, OR 97218

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$28 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now