JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Claire D.

Nanny in Portland, OR 97232.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

  • George Mason University

    George Mason University

Portland, OR

  • Age 33
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Claire communicated thoroughly with me before the scheduled day, was exactly on time, called my children by name...

- Amy C.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $14-$20 per hour

Claire’s Bio

**PLEASE NOTE: At this time, I am working with two great families, full time on weekdays. I am available for weekday evening care beginning at 5:30pm, and on weekends anytime. Thank you!**

I love spending time with kids; they always keep me on my toes! I really enjoy playing games or working puzzles with them, or taking them out to the park on a nice day. As a Biology major I also try to get kids interested in animals and the living world around them, educating them about the plants and animals we see. I also love to cook healthy meals (my specialty is spinach and feta stuff salmon, but I also love to make pasta, among many other dishes).
 I grew up in the Northern Virginia area; I went to West Springfield High School and then got my AS at NVCC, and I am currently finishing up my BS in Biology at GMU. I love music (I play guitar and piano), and I am passionate about environmental issues and conservation biology. I also love to knit (after my term ended with the last family I sat for regularly, I knit their son a hat and their daughter a scarf).  I moved to Portland in June 2012 and I absolutely love it here!


Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Delayed Speech
  • Down Syndrome
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Premature Newborn

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 3/7/14

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Claire communicated thoroughly with me before the scheduled day, was exactly on time, called my children by name when she met them (which helped them warm up) and came with books and activities ready to go. She was warm, friendly and was able to "take charge" right away. The only reason I hesitate to give such a glowing review is that everyone will snag her up :)

- Amy C.
Jump to Top
Claire D.
Claire D.
Portland, OR 97232

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $14-$20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

  • George Mason University

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now