JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Samantha R.

Nanny in Pittsburgh, PA 15206.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Pittsburgh, PA

  • Age 26
  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Samantha’s Bio

My maternal nature and passion for working with children has been a long-standing personality trait of mine. As a child myself, I had more baby dolls than any one of my peers. Each had a first name, middle name, defined likes and dislikes, and a handwritten birth certificate in my own childhood chicken scratch. When I was a pre-teen, my family adopted my little sister from China and I was able to take partake in the care and the raising of a child from toddlerhood on. As soon as I could legally work, I entered the childcare field.

For over 9 years now, I have worked with youth ranging from infants to teenagers in both private nanny settings as well as group care settings. Over my last 3 months of living in Chicago, I have been a full-time nanny to a lovely now-5-month old. In the year and a half prior to this, I worked as an infant/toddler nanny for two young children in a nanny share arrangement, starting with both children when they were newborns.

In Charleston SC, I was as an infant room assistant teacher in a Montessori school. These experiences have refined my skill of caring for multiples. I consider my childcare style to be highly nurturing. I am also detail oriented with ongoing experience in recognizing developmental stages and potential delays with the trained skills to assess and address these issues accordingly. My achievements include facilitating basic motor development in infants, language acquisition, fine motor skills necessary for elementary education enrollment with an emphasis with creating a nurturing and stable environment for emotional expression and support. I can sleep train & potty train as well.

I am a Summa Cum Laude graduate of the College of Charleston. I have a bachelor’s degree in psychology and minors in health and women and gender studies. I am pursuing a masters in Social Work this upcoming fall at Pitt and looking to specialize in Child Welfare.

I have a background in theater and enjoy engaging in and encouraging imaginative play with the children I care for. No matter the age, I prioritize reading and exploring outside. I am CPR and First Aid Certified. I am up to date on my flu and Tdap vaccines. I have a valid license and clean driving record. I have several background checks on file and am currently renewing my sittercity one.

Looking to connect with a family in my new home of Pittsburgh for a part-time nanny position. Hope to meet you and your wonderful child(ren) soon!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

9 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Heart Defects
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Premature Newborn
  • Sensory Integration Disorder
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/26/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Maria S. is a reference for Samantha R. Relationship: Client
Kati M. is a reference for Samantha R. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Samantha R.
Samantha R.
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
26

years
of age

9

years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now