JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sallie V.

Nanny in Blacksburg, VA 24060.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Blacksburg, VA

  • Age 27
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $10-$20 per hour

Sallie’s Bio

My mother has been a pre-school teacher for over 30 years and I have assisted every summer during summer school since I was the age of 12. The pre-school is located in the basement of my home, so I have been 'connected' to children my entire life. She teaches over 25 three year olds and over 25 four year olds. I have 2 sisters who have two children each (4 yo, 3yo, 2yo, 1yo) and I have helped care for their needs since the age of birth. I am a frequent babysitter in my hometown for over 5 families. I have the capability of caring for children from birth into their teenage years. I can connect easily with children as I have also held many jobs catering toward students. I was a nutrition educator for elementary school children three years ago. I have also been a swim instructor for 3 to 12 year olds. I am a firm believer that caring and loving for children is in my 'genes'. I have a Bachelor's in nutrition, so outdoor activities and eating healthy are very important to me!
Some of my responsibilities with previous jobs and volunteer opportunities:
Bottle feed, spoon feed, and prepare meals
Rock babies for naps, read books, put toddlers down for naps
Prepare snacks when children are hungry
Change diapers, handle bathroom accidents
Stroll around neighborhood, pick up from school, playtime
Keep a close eye on every move from the pre-schoolers
Assist with art during school
Interact, love, care for, and pay attention to the children
This past year I have been an Admissions Advisor for Virginia Tech Office of Undergraduate Admissions. My duties required extensive traveling up and down the east coast to recruit new Virginia Tech Hokies. This position is only a one-year, temporary job, so I will be ending on April 9,2014. I will be available from April 10, 2014 until the beginning of August when I plan to attend nutrition graduate school. I am available occasionally or part-time. I am looking for at least $10/hour, but will be willing to negotiate.
Feel free to contact me with any questions at 434-532-3465 or

Thank you for your consideration and time.

Please find my reference information below:
Bettie Vaughan
Phone 434-774-4366

Thank you,
Sallie Vaughan


Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 6/15/14

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Bettie V. is a reference for Sallie V. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Sallie V.
Sallie V.
Blacksburg, VA 24060

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now