JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Lauren P.

Nanny in Norfolk, VA 23508.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Norfolk, VA

  • Age 35
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

Lauren’s Bio

I became a nanny my first year of college in 2001 after babysitting throughout high school. I have experience with all ages- newborns through teens. Caring for triplet infants and triplet toddlers was rather exciting. I had the toddlers from 2004-2005, and the following summer I assisted a stay at home mom with her 6 week old triplets. It was an escalated education of various developmental stages. Children progress socially, intellectually, and physically at different times based on their strengths and weaknesses, and I love nurturing these milestones. Regardless of when a child is taking their first steps or achieving their first 100% A on a school assignment, it is a season filled with joy and celebration. These milestones make being a nanny a true joy.

My recent employment concluded December 2017 due to relocating with the military. The last 2 years, I have provided full time care for 2 active children, ages 2 and 7. A few accomplishments include transitioning from bottles to cups, potty training, guiding a picky toddler to vastly expand his pallet, assisting a fourth grader in overcoming hurdles in Math and writing. I have potty trained 7 children now, including 3 year old twin boys. Additionally, the two year old enjoyed play dates with peers at his home and various places around town. I enjoyed trying new recipes for the family and observing the children learn that broccoli doesn’t taste all that bad.

From 2012-2016, I cared for families who have infants and toddlers in the mornings and school aged children in the afternoons. Mornings were filled with getting dressed, meals, tummy time, books, music class, story times, dance parties, walks, washing and folding laundry, preparing future meals, picking up the kitchen and play areas, and occasionally running errands. Afternoons include some of the morning to-dos, in addition to homework assistance, after school activities, carpooling, bath time, etc.

I began teaching Sunday school classes 4 months annually. I have worked with the babies class which starts at 6 months, and I have led a curriculum for older children in various classes through fourth grade. Watching children as young as 4 years of age memorize scripture in a 15 minute period is remarkable.

Thank you for reading about me!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 3/30/18

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help

References

Jeff A. is a reference for Lauren P.
Mike A. is a reference for Lauren P.
Jump to Top
Lauren P.
Lauren P.
Norfolk, VA 23508
35

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $17-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now