Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 63
  • Nanny in Virginia Beach, VA 23453

Meet Laura

  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My on-call nanny business is "Auntie for Hire, LLC" and I have many happy clients in the Virginia Beach area, as well as out of state.  I am available for mornings, days, evenings and overnight work, and specialize in extended care when parents need a "get-away" trip.  I have done quite a bit of volunteer mission work with my church, Hurricane Katrina and other things abroad. I lived with friends in NC, Nov 2004 - Feb 2005, while they were expecting twins and the mom was on bed rest. I cared for their 2 toddlers and am now a surrogate "aunt" to the whole family. I've helped raise my own nephew and niece since birth; now 29 and 20. Overnights are acceptable on an occasional, short-term basis. Most of my clients are SAHM's who just need a break or a date night.  As a client, you will be added to my Google Read more Calendar, giving you access to see when I am free and making it easier to book an assignment.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired. Last completed on 02/20/2015.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Completed 02/21/2020. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired. Last completed on 06/02/2016.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/21/16

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Meredith H.


Laura has babysat for us several times. She keeps a calendar that shows her availability which has proven immensely helpful and is always quick to respond to my messages or texts. She has shown up for us with little notice, is always on time and very professional! Laura keeps my kids safe and entertained, the older kids tell me that they have a good time with her. I've also come home to all of my laundry dried and folded and dishes washed (an unnecessary but appreciated bonus!) I trust and recommend Laura!

Kristy M.


Our two kids love Ms Laura (Aunt Laura). She has taken care of Kira & Caleb twice so far, & we all trust her & are thankful for all her help. She is very active with the kids & brings crafts & activities to do with them. She will be taking care of them overnight one night soon to give us a little rest. Thanks so much Laura! :)

Kevin And Michele M.



Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$17-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)



Graduated Webber International University 1977


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French

Share Laura's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now