JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Jodi H.

Nanny in Virginia Beach, VA 23454.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Virginia Beach, VA

  • Age 31
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $11-$15 per hour

Jodi’s Bio

Caring for children has always been a passion of mine.  It's more of a hobby than a job.  I love to watch the children grow both intellectually and physically.  There is not a more rewarding job than being a Nanny or a mom! Each day is unpredictable.  But the one thing you can count on is the numerous hugs and smiles you will receive throughout the day. 
Everyday is a learning experience.  I take the children on trips to the library, indoor and outdoor parks, to petting zoos, and as soon as the weather gets warm, I take them on a lot more adventures including the zoo and other outdoor family fun!! I love my job and I love these children!!
The family that I nannyed for three and a half years trusted me very much and loved me as I were part of their family.  I went with them on week long vacations, watched thier children over night, and for full weekends... I not only watched them at their house, they let me take them to mine as well.  We formed a very strong bond.  I even got to take the children camping with me a few times for whole weekends.  I miss that family dearly, and would like to find a new one to love just as much. 
I was a live-in nanny for 2 wonderful children! I got the job from Sittercity.com!!!  I am glad they found me.  They did a search, found me, liked what they saw, and gave me a call!! I was working at a childcare center, and left to take the opportunity. This was my first experience with this site. 
Since then, I was a nanny for a family in Portsmouth VA for two children and a nanny for another family with two children who gave me the experience of being able to go and take my son to Disney World!!!
I just recently stopped caring for a family with three children, one infant and two school age, who I absolutely adore. 
My life changed in 2003 when the D'Agati family asked me to be their nanny.  From that day, my life had purpose.  I have watched so many familys prosper and got to watch so many children grow.  I am blessed to be able to say I had a hand in all of it. 
I thank God everyday for my lucky stars.  For the life I hold and the compassion I share.  There is not a day that goes by that I do not acknowledge the fact that He has given me everything.  I have a wonderful family, a loving and supportive husband, two beautiful children, and opportunities thrown at me from every angle. 
 

Experience

Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Premature Newborn
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Respiratory Care
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 6/1/14

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Liz S. is a reference for Jodi H.
Liz S. is a reference for Jodi H.
Jump to Top
Jodi H.
Jodi H.
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
31

years
of age

15

years experience

Preferred Rate $11-$15 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now