JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Nanny in Lansing, MI 48912

Meet Alexandra

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Though caregiving is not my full-time profession, I absolutely love nannying. My sister was born when I was 9-years-old and I was always a hands-on sister. When I was 12 I took the Redcross Babysitting Training class and also became certified in CPR. Because I am a SCUBA diver I am re-certified with CPR every two years. My brother was born when I was 12, and I then spent my summers nannying both my sister (3) and brother (infant) while my parents were at work. As I got older, about 15, I started nannying not only my siblings, but two neighborhood children as well. At this point my sister was turning 6 and my brother was turning 3. The neighborhood children were 7 and 2. I spent five days a week caring for all four of them for six full summers. During the school year I would sporadically babysit on Read more weekends as well (infants to middle school ages), depending on need. This was not just my brother and sister, but through referrals from the neighborhood parents. During high school I spent time with children coaching cheerleading and leading dance classes. Since moving to East Lansing I have babysat multiple times for many people (work friends, referrals, etc.) and nannyed each summer for three young children. When I began they were aged infant to five. I also volunteered at Haven House in East Lansing working with the child care program, which benefited infants to teenagers. I also volunteer with a program called In2Books. I am randomly matched with 1st-4th graders across the country. Together we read and discuss books. It's a great way to get them stimulated and interested in reading as well as improving their critical thinking and writing skills. I should also tell you I have very reliable transportation with a perfect driving record and no criminal convictions, arrests, etc. Owning a high-energy large dog of my own, I am extremely comfortable with pets. No children of my own, yet! I recently graduated from Michigan State University and am looking to take some time off before returning to get my teaching degree.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • My availability is valid through 7/1/12

Ratings & reviews

Alexandra doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for children per sitting

$8-$15/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Autism

Education

Journalism/Humanities

Graduated Michigan State University

References

Additional services

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Alexandra's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now