JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Valerie A.

Nanny in Brooklyn, NY 11214.

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • University of California - San Francisco

    University of California - San Francisco

Brooklyn, NY

  • Age 26
  • 2 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
Wonderful nanny to our family for more than a year! American Ex-Pat Family Gives Valerie Highest Recommendation. Don't hesitate!

We are an American family living in Germany due to work. Since I (mom) have continued to telecommute to my marke...

- Shannon A.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Valerie’s Bio

Dear family!

My name is Valerie and I am a 23 year old student. I was born and raised in Germany, so I am fluent in German (native speaker) but I also speak English really well and also basic French. I am very reliable and love to work with kids!
I recently moved from Germany to Brooklyn, NY.
Until my departure from Germany at the end of march I have been working for an american family stationed in Germany.
I took care of 2 adorable girls who are ages 4 and 8. I have been working with this family as a nanny for over 1 year.

My job included: picking the the kids up from school, prepare lunch/dinner/snacks, help them with their homework, play with them, spend a lot of time outside in parks or at playgrounds and also teach them german.
Due to my moving to New York I am looking for a new family to work with starting as soon as possible. I am living in the Sheepshead Bay/Marine Park area of Brooklyn but I have no problem with working in other areas in Brooklyn and Manhattan.
Since my arrival here in the US I have worked with different families with children different ages (between 7months-9years). I have also worked with twins.
I´m picking up the kids from school, bring them home or to their afternoon activities, cook or prepare bottles, change diapers, spend a lot of time on playgrounds, accompany mothers and their kids (twins) to the doctor, clean up the toys, bath & nap/bed time, do kids laundry and light housekeeping.

Also, I do have a very flexible schedule and don´t mind coming in early or staying a little bit longer if needed.

Ideally I am looking for a full-time live out nanny position ideally starting in August.

Please feel free to email me any questions or give me a call: (646) 707-9823 and read my reference. I am looking forward to hearing from you!

Valerie Anderson


Age Specific Experience

2 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 11/11/14

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English
  • French
  • German

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
Wonderful nanny to our family for more than a year! American Ex-Pat Family Gives Valerie Highest Recommendation. Don't hesitate!

We are an American family living in Germany due to work. Since I (mom) have continued to telecommute to my marketing job on the East Coast, it’s important to have reliable childcare in our home while I'm working. We met Valerie through a friend of hers, our then-nanny who was leaving the area. We can't believe our good fortune with Valerie!

We have always had nannies prior to living in Europe, and Valerie would be at the TOP of our list to re-hire if we lived in the same area again. Valerie has worked with our family for about a year, and she's been responsible for childcare, educational assistance (German homework for our children, as well as language support as they have developed greater fluency at school and home), au pair-related childcare home tasks (making healthy meals for the children, doing their laundry, keeping toys straight/assisting the children in cleaning up). Since we are living in Germany and our children attend German schools, she is constantly translating documents for us and helping us to understand cultural nuances.

All of these things she does with a smile on her face and obvious love for our children. Our children are ALWAYS happy to see her. She has become an integral part of our family. She loves the children, they love her, and she's been a good role model for our two girls (polite, respectful, conscientious, on time, a good listener). She actively participates in their play -- hours of Magna Tiles, outdoor walks, etc. -- she's NOT one to sit on the bench texting away. (Refreshing!)

Loving, respected presence in our home
Excellent cook; prepares healthy meals (healthy eating habits = normal in Germany, fresh veggies/protein; deals with nut allergies well)
Great role model for our girls

Valerie would be an asset to any family that chooses her to work with their children. It's an honor to be a reference for Valerie. If you have any additional questions, please request my contact info from Valerie.

- Shannon A.
Jump to Top
Valerie A.
Valerie A.
Brooklyn, NY 11214

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • University of California - San Francisco

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now